Elder Scrolls
Advertisement
Elder Scrolls

For the event in The Elder Scrolls lore, see Moot.
Shortcut:
TES:MOOT

A Moot is a monthly meeting between users meant to efficiently discuss and vote on topics of importance. All TESWikians are invited to attend. Don't hesitate to voice your opinion when asked; every voice counts! The moot is generally an informal, "open floor"-type event, where anyone can talk about things on their mind, but it's a very good idea to write down what you'll be talking about in advance here.

Participation[]

The Moot is open to participation from all users!

Our Chat Rules do apply. Members must be "Verified" on Discord to participate, and interfering with Moot may result in a kick. While not a requirement, if you want to bring up a topic, it is highly encouraged that you sign your name below.

If you're not presenting, you shouldn't sign your name and may join any time. While this is meant to be a fun and informative event, participants are expected to act respectful and be patient. As such, interrupting those presenting a topic isn't allowed—your time to speak will come.

Timezones[]

The Moots are always scheduled for the first Saturday of every month, at 8 PM Coordinated Universal Time (UTC). To avoid confusion, the different time zones have been provided.

Click to show

Note: UTC does not have Daylight Savings Time so it stays the same all year round. If your country uses DDST the time will be an hour (or a half hour) later than it is stated in the timezone slot.

You can usually tell a Daylight Savings Time (summer time) apart from a standard time (winter time) depending on the letter used in the acronym: either "D" or "S." For instance, US Eastern time is either EDT (daylight savings) or EST (standard). Please note that some timezones have the same name both in winter and in summer time.

All summer timezone names are marked with a reference. Check here which timezone your country belongs to.

UTC−12 (AoE) 08:00 Saturday
UTC−11 (NUT/SST) 9:00 Saturday
UTC−10 (HAST/CKT/TAHT) 10:00 Saturday
UTC-9:30 (MART) 10:30 Saturday
UTC−9 (AKST/HADT[1]/GAMT) 11:00 Saturday
UTC−8 (AKDT[1]/PT/PST) 12:00 Saturday
UTC−7 (PDT/MT/MST/PT[1]) 13:00 Saturday
UTC−6 (MDT/CT/CST/MT[1]/GALT) 14:00 Saturday
UTC−5 (CDT/CIST/ET/EST/CT[1]/EAST/EASST[1]/ACT/COT/ECT/PET) 15:00 Saturday
UTC-4:30 (VET) 15:30 Saturday
UTC−4 (EDT/AST/AT/CDT[1]/CIDST[1]/ET[1]/AMT/BOT/FKT/GYT/PYT) 16:00 Saturday
UTC-3:30 (NST) 16:30 Saturday
UTC−3 (ADT/AT[1]/WGT/ADT[1]/PMST/AMST[1]/ART/BRT/CLST[1]/CLT/FKST[1]/GFT/PYST[1]/SRT/UYT/WARST[1]) 17:00 Saturday
UTC-2:30 (NDT[1]) 17:30 Saturday
UTC−2 (WGST[1]/PMDT[1]/BRST[1]/FNT/GST/UYST[1]) 18:00 Saturday
UTC-1 (AZOT) 19:00 Saturday
UTC/AZOST[1] 20:00 Saturday
Europe and Africa
UTC-1 (CVT) 19:00 Saturday
UTC/GMT/WET/WT 20:00 Saturday
UTC+1 (CET/WEST[1]/BST[1]/WAT/WST) 21:00 Saturday
UTC+2 (EET/CEST[1]/CAT/SAST/WAST[1]) 22:00 Saturday
UTC+3 (EEST[1]/FET[1]/EAT/MSK) 23:00 Saturday
UTC+4 (KUYT/MSD[1]/SAMT) 00:00 Sunday
Asia and Australasia
UTC+3 (EEDT) 23:00 Saturday
UTC+4 00:00 Sunday
UTC+5 (TFT) 01:00 Sunday
UTC+6 (IOT) 02:00 Sunday
UTC+6:30 (CCT) 02:30 Sunday
UTC+7 (CXT) 03:00 Sunday
UTC+8 (AWST) 04:00 Sunday
UTC+8:45 (ACWST) 04:45 Sunday
UTC+9 (KST/AWDT[1]/PWT) 05:00 Sunday
UTC+9:30 (ACST/ACT) 05:30 Sunday
UTC+10 (AEST/AET/CHUT/ChST/PGT/YAPT) 06:00 Sunday
UTC+10:30 (LHST/ACDT[1]/ACT[1]) 06:30 Sunday
UTC+11 (LHDT[1]/NFT/AEDT[1]/AET[1]/BST/KOST/NCT/PONT/SBT/VUT) 07:00 Sunday
UTC+12 (NZST/FJT/GILT/MHT/NRT/TVT/WAKT/WFT) 08:00 Sunday
UTC+12:45 (CHAST) 08:45 Sunday
UTC+13 (FJST[1]/NZDT[1]/PHOT/TKT/TOT) 09:00 Sunday
UTC+13:45 (CHADT[1]) 09:45 Sunday
UTC+14 (LINT/WST) 10:00 Sunday

Positions[]

Leader[]

An organizational position usually given to the most senior staff member present.

  1. The Moot Leader is responsible for officially starting and ending the Moot, providing summaries for each topic prior to a vote, counting the votes, and moving the group forward between topics.

Presenter[]

One of the people who is suggesting something.

  1. Presenters usually speak in the order they are signed up for below.
  2. An ideal presentation includes a relatively brief explanation of their proposal along with any relevant additional information. When they're finished, they will let everyone know and discussion and voting will begin.
  3. The Presenter should try to be as clear and grammatically correct as possible. Respect for others is extremely important while trying to get their point across. They may argue for or against a point, or maintain neutrality and let others decide. The Presenter may discuss the topic with everyone else and cast a vote when voting occurs.

Spectator[]

A regular user watching and/or voting in the Moot.

  • Anyone can attend the Moot without signing their name. All votes count, as do all opinions. No opinion counts any more or less than any other opinion. Anyone who purposely creates tension may be kicked.

Moot procedure[]

  1. Opening Time: Presenters should try to be online in the Discord server at this time no matter their order. Around five minutes should be given to wait for latecomers before the actual meeting begins.
  2. Beginning of the meeting: Once everyone is satisfied with the number of audience members, the first Presenter will speak about their topic.
  3. The Presenter goes: The user will give their opening statements, present their case, and then rest their case.
  4. Discussion: Once the Presenter is finished, they will ask those attending to discuss their ideas in a civil manner.
  5. Voting: Everyone will get a say in the topic and if it's evident via votes that roughly two-thirds are in agreement, the results will be tallied by the Moot Leader and the moot will continue. If the topic is highly controversial, a separate consensus can be created in the forum. To vote, respond with either (yes)—support for the proposal—or (no)—opposing the proposal. One can withdraw their vote if one wishes, and remaining neutral is also allowed.
  6. End of the Discussion: After a decision is reached, the next Presenter(s) will repeat the same process until they are all finished. Once all discussions have been closed, the meeting will come to an end.

Sign-up[]

Please sign up to present at the moot here: edit the "Current Moot Topics" section and sign your signature. For example:

  • Redo style and formatting policy for quest walkthroughs —WikiEditor4Life (talk) 00:02, 24 June 2022 (UTC)

To avoid stretching out the moots for too long, users may present 2–3 topics per moot. If a meeting is already pretty full, it is advisable to try your luck with the next one. When signing your name, please check to see if someone is already covering the topic you want to introduce to the Moot.

Current Moot Topics[]

To prevent confusion, topics will be presented based on the order they are added to this page.

  • Change moot procedure to allow revisits of old decisions if a certain amount of time has passed, and if support is suitably high —Atvelonis (talk) 16:36, 18 July 2022 (UTC)
  • Revisit our H3 policy for interactions/quests to improve space usage —Atvelonis (talk) 16:36, 18 July 2022 (UTC)

Log[]

For a searchable archive of all moot summaries, see The Elder Scrolls Wiki:Moot/Archive.

The Moots will be logged for the sake of convenience. In case the outcome of a previous Moot is disputed, the log will be here to resolve the issue.

Click to show
  1. June 27, 2015 (Text) (Summary)
  2. July 4, 2015 (Text) (Summary)
  3. July 11, 2015 (Text) (Summary)
  4. July 18, 2015 (Text) (Summary)
  5. July 25, 2015 (Text) (Summary)
  6. August 01, 2015 (Text) (Summary)
  7. August 08, 2015 (Text) (Summary)
  8. August 15, 2015 (Text) (Summary)
  9. August 22, 2015 (Text) (Summary)
  10. August 29, 2015 (Text) (Summary)
  11. September 5, 2015 (Text) (Summary)
  12. September 12, 2015 (Text) (Summary)
  13. September 19, 2015 (Text) (Summary)
  14. September 26, 2015 (transcript unavailable) (Summary)
  15. October 03, 2015 (Text) (Summary)
  16. October 10, 2015 (Text) (Summary)
  17. October 17, 2015 (Text) (Summary)
  18. October 24, 2015 (Text) (Summary)
  19. October 31, 2015 (Text) (Summary)
  20. November 7, 2015 (Text) (Summary)
  21. November 14, 2015 (Text) (Summary)
  22. November 21, 2015 (transcript unavailable) (Summary)
  23. November 28, 2015 (Text) (Summary)
  24. December 05, 2015 (Text) (Summary)
  25. December 12, 2015 (Text) (Summary)
  26. December 19, 2015 (Text) (Summary)
  27. December 26, 2015 (no extant summary/log)
  28. January 02, 2016 (Text) (Summary)
  29. January 09, 2016 (Text) (Summary)
  30. January 16, 2016 (Text) (Summary)
  31. January 23, 2016 (Text) (Summary)
  32. January 30, 2016 (no extant summary/log)
  33. February 06, 2016 (Text) (Summary)
  34. February 13, 2016 (no extant summary/log)
  35. February 20, 2016 (no extant summary/log)
  36. February 27, 2016 (transcript unavailable) (Summary)
  37. March 05, 2016 (no extant summary/log)
  38. March 12, 2016 (no extant summary/log)
  39. March 19, 2016 (no extant summary/log)
  40. March 26, 2016 (no extant summary/log)
  41. April 16, 2016 (no extant summary/log)
  42. May 07, 2016 (no extant summary/log)
  43. May 14, 2016 (no extant summary/log)
  44. May 28, 2016 (no extant summary/log)
  45. June 11, 2016 (Text) (Summary)
  46. July 23, 2016 (no extant summary/log)
  47. December 2016 (no extant summary/log)
  48. January 2017 (no extant summary/log)
  49. February 2017 (no extant summary/log)
  50. August 2017 (Text) (Summary)
  51. September 2017 (Text) (Summary)
  52. October 2017 (Text) (Summary)
  53. November 2017 (Text) (Summary)
  54. December 2017 (Text) (Summary)
  55. January 2018 (Text) (Summary)
  56. February 2018 (Text) (Summary)
  57. March 2018 (Text) (Summary)
  58. April 2018 (Text) (Summary)
  59. May 2018 (Text) (Summary)
  60. June 2018 (Text) (Summary)
  61. July 2018 (Text) (Summary)
  62. August 2018 (Text) (Summary)
  63. September 2018 (Text) (Summary)
  64. October 2018 (Text) (Summary)
  65. November 2018 (Text) (Summary)
  66. December 2018 (Text) (Summary)
  67. January 2019 (Text) (Summary)
  68. February 2019 (Text) (Summary)
  69. March 2019 (Text) (Summary)
  70. April 2019 (Text) (Summary)
  71. May 2019 (Text) (Summary)
  72. June 2019 (Text) (Summary)
  73. July 2019 (Text) (Summary)
  74. August 2019 (Text) (Summary)
  75. September 2019 (Text) (Summary)
  76. October 2019 (Text) (Summary)
  77. November 2019 (No Moot was held)
  78. December 2019 (No Moot was held)
  79. January 2020 (Text) (Summary)
  80. February 2020 (No Moot was held)
  81. March 2020 (No Moot was held)
  82. April 2020 (No Moot was held)
  83. May 2020 (No Moot was held)
  84. June 2020 (Text) (Summary)
  85. July 2020 (No Moot was held)
  86. August 2020 (Text) (Summary)
  87. September 2020 (Text) (Summary)
  88. October 2020 (No Moot was held)
  89. November 2020 (No Moot was held)
  90. December 2020 (Text) (Summary)
  91. January 2021 (No Moot was held)
  92. February 2021 (Text) (Summary)
  93. March 2021 (Text) (Summary)
  94. April 2021 (No Moot was held)
  95. May 2021 (Text) (Summary)
  96. June 2021 (No Moot was held)
  97. July 2021 (Text) (Summary)
  98. August 2021 (No Moot was held)
  99. September 2021 (Text) (Summary)
  100. October 2021 (Text) (Summary)
  101. November 2021 (No Moot was held)
  102. December 2021 (No Moot was held)
  103. January 2022 (No Moot was held)
  104. February 2022 (No Moot was held)
  105. March 2022 (Text) (Summary)
  106. April 2022 (Text) (Summary)
  107. May 2022 (No Moot was held)
  108. June 2022 (Text) (Summary)
  109. July 2022 (Text) (Summary)
  110. August 2022 (Text) (Summary)

Staff: to log the moot easily, please use the moot_log_compact.py or moot_log_cozy.py Python scripts.

Notes[]

  • All items agreed on will be added to the Moot tasklist; this will allow us to keep track of what we have left to do so we do not forget to do anything.
  • Most Summaries can also be found in our Weekly Updates.
  • If a decision is made in the moot, and a user later wishes to reverse or significantly revise that decision, they may only do so through a Consensus Track thread to prevent overly-frequent policy changes.

References[]

This reference is added after all the timezone names that are Daylight Saving Time timezones aka summer ones. If your country uses DST please make sure you check the summer one. If you add a summer timezone remember to add this reference.

Advertisement